Call For Papers

PDF Version

The ARCS series of conferences has over 30 years of tradition reporting top notch results in computer architecture and operating systems research. This year's focus will be on architectural aspects for application acceleration. Like the previous conferences in this series, it continues to be an important forum for computer architecture research. In 2013 ARCS will be hosted by the Czech Technical University in Prague.

The proceedings of ARCS 2013 will be published in the Springer Lecture Notes on Computer Science (LNCS) series (pending). After the conference, authors of selected papers will be invited to submit an extended version of their contribution for publication in a special issue of the Journal of Systems Architecture. Also, the best paper and best presentation award will be presented at the conference.

Paper submission

Authors are invited to submit original, unpublished research papers on one of the following topics: 

  • Computer architecture topics such as multi-cores, memory systems, and parallel computing. 
  • Adaptive system architectures such as reconfigurable systems in hardware and software.
  • Customization and application specific accelerators in heterogeneous architectures
  • Organic and Autonomic Computing including both theoretical and practical results on self-organization, self-configuration, self-optimization, self-healing, and self-protection techniques. 
  • Operating Systems including but not limited to scheduling, memory management, power management, and RTOS.
  • Energy-awareness, green computing. 
  • System aspects of ubiquitous and pervasive computing such as sensor nodes, novel input/output devices, novel computing platforms, architecture modeling, and middleware. 
  • Embedded systems including but not limited to architecture, communication, design methodologies, and applications. 
  • Network Centric and Grid Computing

Submissions should be done through EasyChair. Papers should be submitted in pdf or postscript format. They should be formatted according to Springer LNCS style and not exceed 12 pages.

Workshop and Tutorial Proposals

Proposals for workshops and tutorials within the technical scope of the conference are solicited. Submissions should be done through email directly to the workshops and tutorials chair This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

Important Dates

  • Paper submission deadline: October 14, 2012 (closed)
  • Workshop and tutorial proposals: October 15, 2012
  • Notification of acceptance: November 19, 2012
  • Camera ready papers: December 16, 2012

Organizing Committee

General Chair

  • Hana Kubátová, CTU in Prague, CZ
  • Christian Hochberger, TU Dresden, D

PC Chairs

  • Martin Daněk, UTIA AV CR, CZ
  • Bernhard Sick, University of Kassel, D

Workshop and Tutorial Chair

  • Mladen Berekovic, TU Braunschweig, D

Publicity Chairs

  • Josef Hlaváč, CTU in Prague, CZ
  • Dietmar Fey, University of Erlangen-Nurnberg, D

Conference Web Chairs

  • Petr Fišer, CTU in Prague, CZ
  • Martin Chloupek,  CTU in Prague, CZ

Industry Liaison

  • Robert Lórencz, CTU in Prague, CZ

Local Organization

  • Rudolf Kinc, AMCA, CZ
  • Eva Uhrová (finance), AMCA, CZ

Program Committee

  • Michael Beigl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, D
  • Mladen Berekovic, TU Braunschweig, D
  • Koen Bertels, Technical University of Delft, NL
  • Jürgen Brehm, Leibniz University Hannover, D
  • Uwe Brinkschulte, University of Frankfurt, D
  • Philip Brisk, EPFL, Lausanne, CH
  • Jiannong Cao, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, CN
  • Joao M. P. Cardoso, FEUP/University of Porto, P
  • Luigi Carro, UFRGS, BR
  • Martin Daněk, UTIA AV CR, CZ
  • Koen De Bosschere, Ghent University, B
  • Oliver Diessel, University of New South Wales, AUS
  • Nikitas Dimopoulos, University of Victoria, CA
  • Ahmed El-Mahdy, Alexandria University, ET
  • Fabrizio Ferrandi, Polimi, I
  • Alois Ferscha, University of Linz, A
  • Petr Fišer, CTU in Prague, CZ 
  • Pierfrancesco Foglia, Universita di Pisa, I
  • William Fornaciari, Politecnico di Milano, I
  • Björn Franke, Edinburgh, GB
  • Roberto Giorgi, Universita di Siena, I
  • Daniel Gracia-Pérez, CEA, F
  • Jan Haase, TU Wien, A
  • Jörg Henkel, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, D
  • Andreas Herkersdorf, TU München, D
  • Christian Hochberger, TU Dresden, D
  • Michael Hübner, Ruhr-Uni­ver­si­tät Bo­chum, D 
  • Murali Jayapala, IMEC, B
  • Gert Jervan, Tallin University of Technology, EST
  • Ben Juurlink, TU-Delft, NL
  • Wolfgang Karl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, D
  • Andreas Koch, Technische Universitat Darmstadt, D 
  • Jan Kořenek, BUT, CZ
  • Hana Kubátová, CTU in Prague, CZ
  • Olaf Landsiedel, Chalmers University of Technology, S
  • Róbert Lórencz, CTU in Prague, CZ
  • Paul Lukowicz, University of Passau, D
  • Erik Maehle, Universität zu Lübeck, D
  • Christian Müller-Schloer, Leibniz University Hannover, D
  • Alex Orailoglu, UCSD, USA
  • Francois Pacull, CEA/LETI, F
  • Raphael 'kena' Poss, Universiteit van Amsterdam, NL
  • Kay Römer, University of Luebeck, D
  • Pascal Sainrat, Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, F
  • Silvia Santini, ETH Zurich, CH
  • Toshinori Sato, Kyushu University, J
  • Jan Schmidt, CTU in Prague, CZ
  • Martin Schulz, LLNL, USA
  • Karsten Schwan, Georgia Tech, USA
  • Lukáš Sekanina, BUT, CZ
  • Cristina Silvano, Polimi, I
  • Leonel Sousa, TU Lisbon, P
  • Rainer G. Spallek, TU Dresden, D
  • Olaf Spinczyk, University of Dortmund, D
  • Benno Stabernack, Fraunhofer HHI, D
  • Walter Stechele, TU München, D
  • Jarmo Takala, Tampere University of Technology, FIN
  • Djamshid Tavanagraian, University of Rostock, D
  • Jürgen Teich, Universität Erlangen, D
  • Pedro Trancoso, University of Cyprus, CY
  • Theo Ungerer, University of Augsburg, D
  • Stéphane Vialle, Supelec, F
  • Hans Vandierendonck, Queen's University Belfast, GB
  • Lucian Vintan, Lucian Blaga University of Sibiu, RO
  • Klaus Waldschmidt, University of Frankfurt, D
  • Stephan Wong, Delft University of Technology, NL